Six Chargers Named National Merit Semifinalists

The National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC) has recognized the following seniors as 2020 National Merit Scholarship Program Semifinalists – David Turner, Saif Salim, Abi Siatkowski, Sukanya Bhattacharya, Nate Branscum, and Hayden Schraad. 

These academically talented students will now have an opportunity to attain Finalist standing and to be considered for a National Merit Scholarship, awarded in the spring. 

According to the National Merit Scholarship Corporation, more than 1.5 million juniors in approximately 21,000 high schools entered the 2020 National Merit Scholarship Program by taking the 2018 PSAT. The nationwide pool of Semifinalists, representing less than one percent of U.S. high school seniors, includes the highest scoring entrants in each state. Among the approximately 16,000 Semifinalists, about 15,000 are expected to be designated as Finalists.

Help Us Deliver!

Help us keep the site fresh with current information. Submit digital photos, news, and story ideas to