Heritage News

HH Honors Faculty and Staff

On Wednesday, August 10, Heritage Hall welcomed back faculty and staff with its annual Faculty Recognition Luncheon sponsored by the School’s Board of Trustees. The event honors endowed chair recipients and distinguished faculty and celebrates employees entering milestone years of service.

Endowed Chair distinction provides special recognition and a monetary award to a faculty member who has embodied the School’s motto, To Learn, To Lead, To Serve, in their area of expertise. During this year’s ceremony, three new faculty members were announced as recipients. 

Lower School Librarian Susan Story: The Judith Ann Knott Chair for Distinguished Achievement in Elementary Education
Established by friends and family members of Judith Ann Knott, this endowment honors a teacher for grades PS-4 who demonstrates the professionalism and positive attitude that distinguished Judy as a teacher and person.

“Thank you for honoring me with the Judith Ann Knott Chair for Distinguished Achievement in Elementary Education award. Teaching at Heritage Hall is a privilege, one that I value highly. I am grateful to work with dedicated colleagues, wonderful students, and supportive parents. I am especially thankful to the students who regularly teach me about joy, gratitude, friendship, and learning.  Please know that the School’s culture of excellence has encouraged my growth as an educator and that receiving this award is one of the highlights of my career. I am grateful to the Knott family, Graham ’00 and Betsy Colton, and all those who made this award possible; I am humbled to have received it.” – Susan Story 

Middle School Educational Support Services Teacher Paula Moll: The Harrison Family Endowed Chair for ESS
Established by Russ Harrison in 2020, this endowment honors educators who acknowledge learning differences and provide various programs, intervention strategies, and teaching methods to meet the learning needs and challenges of exceptional children.

“Receiving the Harrison Family Endowed Fund for ESS is an extraordinary honor. I am truly humbled, for this award is the pinnacle of recognition in my field. Also, I must give credit where credit is due. With the generous support of the Middle School faculty, who keep the wheels of learning rolling in their classrooms, I can provide timely feedback and help for my students. Since my students are at the heart of everything I do, my goal for this award is to benefit them and shine a light on their achievements. Many thanks to the Harrison family for their generous contribution!” – Paula Moll

Athletic Trainer Mallery Gannaway: The Bogert Family Endowment for Athletics
Established in 2019, this fund supports a position in the Athletic Department established by Brian Bogert ’95 in honor of his family. The Bogerts have devoted more than 50 years to character coaching and excellence in soccer, tennis, golf, football, volleyball, and teaching in their commitment to whole-child education.

“I wanted to become an athletic trainer to help athletes and impact their lives. Receiving this award makes me feel like I am accomplishing what I set out to do, and it means the world to me that people appreciate my work. I am so grateful that Chris Gfeller saw potential and took a risk on a young athletic trainer fresh out of graduate school. Serving Charger students, faculty, staff, and patrons is truly the most rewarding thing to me.” – Mallery Gannaway 

Also recognized were chairs embarking on the second year of their two-year term. 

Fourth Grade Teacher Brenda Neundorf: The Julie O. Bramble Chair in Elementary Education
Established by the Robert Glenn Rapp Foundation in 2018, this endowment honors a teacher for grades PS-4 who demonstrates a nurturing approach, a deep passion for learning, and unwavering devotion to students.

Eighth Grade English Teacher Trevor Larson ’08: William Carson Harris ’19 Middle School Faculty Chair
This fund was established by Glenn Harris ’77 in memory of his son, Will. Will most appreciated the middle school teachers who cared in and out of the classroom and were devoted to his personal growth, happiness, and success. This endowment honors a teacher who demonstrates compassion and emphasizes the teacher-student relationship.

Upper School English Teacher Mary Lukaszek: The Guy A. Bramble Chair in English and Language Arts
Established by the Robert Glenn Rapp Foundation in 2018, this endowment is dedicated to the longtime Headmaster and member of the English department. The chair honors teaching excellence in the English or Language Arts Department for grades 5-12.

The Boghetich Prize for Excellence in Teaching award endowed by the Robert Glenn Rapp Foundation recognizes one teacher in each division who has completed at least five years of service at Heritage Hall and who demonstrates qualities that promote excellence in teaching: creativity, playfulness, humility, a firm command of one’s subject matter, and unwavering commitment to student success. This year’s recipients were:

Lower School: Pre-K Teacher Tracy Lewis
“I was beyond shocked and grateful for the recognition. Heritage Hall is an amazing place to be an educator because of how appreciated we are! I enjoy teaching my Pre-K students every day and love being a part of such an incredible community!” – Tracy Lewis

Middle School: French Teacher Lucy Williams
“I am honored and grateful to teach at such a good school. My colleagues and administrators have always surrounded me with encouragement and support. I feel fortunate to be a part of the process of educating our future in such a nurturing, kind, and inspiring environment. It is a special honor to receive this award.” – Lucy Williams

Upper School: Math Teacher David Hart
“I am extremely appreciative of this honor. Many of my colleagues are deserving of this award, so I am very humbled and grateful to be this year's recipient. It's a blessing to teach at a school as wonderful as Heritage Hall, as the students, parents, faculty, and administration here are amazing!” – David Hart  

Recognizing employees who have reached a service milestone is a time-honored tradition at Heritage Hall. This year’s honorees were:
  • 35 Years: Keith Cassell
  • 30 Years: Ellen Berney
  • 25 Years: Audra Wilson
  • 20 Years: Priscilla Bordeaux, Bryan Gaston
  • 15 Years:  Kathryn Bramble, Barbara Leite, Barbara Nykol, Luke Steelman ’93, Susan Story, Lucy Williams
  • 10 Years: Steve Chard ’88, Katie Horn Davis ’09, David Hart, Ashley Baer Heil ’09, Kristi Koures
  • 5 Years: Jamie Ashburn, Michael Bischoff, Sarah Stringer Butler ’91, Jennifer Ephraim, Sarah Burch Farris ’09, McKenzie Foerster, Xavier Freeman, Cecelia Garcia-Marquez, Jeff Gibson, Chelsea Jones, Tracy Lewis
Congratulations to all of the 2022 honorees!
Heritage Hall is a co-educational college preparatory school in Oklahoma City. As one of the few secular private schools in the state, we offer a challenging academic curriculum for students from preschool through grade 12, as well as unique leadership opportunities, a wide spectrum of athletics, and a well developed fine arts program.