Heritage News


Lauren Roth, Director of Communications
Heritage Hall celebrated milestone service anniversaries of 38 members of its faculty and staff on August 8 at its Faculty Recognition Luncheon, sponsored by the School’s Board of Trustees. 
The event also honored nine endowed chair recipients and distinguished faculty.
Middle School art teacher and German club sponsor Ellen Berney was awarded the Distinguished Faculty Award, presented by the Heritage Hall Alumni Association. 
“I was absolutely stunned when my name was announced, but then I was positively elated to be recognized by our Alumni,” Berney stated. “It meant so much to me, just as those students meant so much to me when they were in my classes or on my Germany Trips.  It was a terrific feeling and brought back many memories.  What a wonderful way to start a brand new school year!” she added.
Upper School U.S. Social Studies teacher Dr. John Powell was recognized for 45 years of service. In his remarks, Dr. Powell recounted a conversation he’d had with a student last spring. “He asked, ‘if you had it to do all over again, would you still do this?’ I told him, ‘Not only would I still choose to do this, but I wouldn’t change a thing.’” 
Heritage Hall’s milestone honorees are:
  • 45 Years – Dr. John Powell
  • 30 Years – Robert Ring
  • 25 Years – Kathie Barnett, Roger Bates, Tena Highfill, David Hillis, Tommy Riley
  • 20 Years – Julie Kline, Robert Smith
  • 15 Years – Rebecca Clemens, Dana Dobson Schwab ’07, Steven Gillmore, Dr. Chris Hamel, Jared Prince, Genifer Ring, Lauren Roth
  • 10 Years – Maggie English, Carrie Gary, Michele Hagan ’84, Jay Freeman, Kelley Mastell, Jenifer Standish
  • 5 Years – Toni Cannon, Kimberly Crawford, Dawn Freeman, Christopher Hamilton II ’15, John Holland, Tiffany Hopper-Danz, Courtney Hubbart, Harrison Jackson, Anne James, Margaret Murray, Syrina Shanahan, Dustin Sanders, Nate Toll, Rika Toll, Teresa Turner, Spencer Waldron ’17
The School also recognized the following endowed chairs:
Harrison Jackson was named The Guy A. Bramble Chair in English and Language Arts endowment chair. Established by the Robert Glenn Rapp Foundation in 2018, this endowment is dedicated to the longtime Headmaster and member of the English department, Guy A. Bramble. The chair honors teaching excellence in the English or Language Arts Department for grades 5-12.
Becky Drozd was named The Julie O. Bramble Chair in Elementary Education endowment chair.
Established by the Robert Glenn Rapp Foundation in 2018, this endowment honors a teacher for grades PS-4 who demonstrates a nurturing approach, a deep passion for learning, and an unwavering devotion to students.
Jamie Ashburn was named the William Carson Harris ’19 Middle School Faculty Chair. This fund was established by Glenn Harris ’77 in memory of his son, Will, who most appreciated the middle school teachers who were devoted to his personal growth, happiness, and success, both in and out of the classroom. This endowment honors a teacher who demonstrates compassion and emphasizes the teacher-student relationship.
Also recognized were chairs embarking on the second year of their two-year term:
Athletic trainer Mallery Gannaway is the chair for The Bogert Family Endowment for Athletics. Established in 2019 by Brian Bogert ’95 in honor of his family, this fund supports a position in the Athletic Department. The Bogerts have devoted more than 50 years to character coaching and excellence in soccer, tennis, golf, football, volleyball, and teaching in their commitment to whole-child education.
Paula Moll is the recipient of The Harrison Family Endowed Chair for ESS. Established by Russ Harrison in 2020, this endowment honors educators who acknowledge learning differences and provide a variety of programs, intervention strategies, and teaching methods to meet the learning needs and challenges of exceptional children.
Susan Story is The Judith Ann Knott Chair for Distinguished Achievement in Elementary Education. Established by friends and family members of Judith Ann Knott, this endowment honors a teacher for grades PS-4 who demonstrates the professionalism and positive attitude that distinguished Judy as a teacher and person.
Additionally, three faculty members were honored with the Boghetich Prize for Excellence in Teaching award, endowed by the Robert Glenn Rapp Foundation, which recognizes one teacher in each division of the School who has completed at least five years of service at Heritage Hall and who demonstrates qualities that promote excellence in teaching: creativity, playfulness, humility, a firm command of one’s subject matter, and unwavering commitment to student success.
The Boghetich Prize for Excellence in Teaching recipients are: Andrea Brousseau, Lower School; Paign Sun, Middle School; Corinne Crepin, Upper School.
Heritage Hall is an equal opportunity employer committed to a diverse community promoting fairness, acceptance, equal treatment, and opportunities for all. With regard to hiring, student admission, allocation of financial aid, and educational policy, it is our policy not to discriminate and to comply with all applicable state and federal laws prohibiting discrimination based on race, color, gender, national origin, religion, ethnicity, age, sexual orientation, disability, veteran status, or other applicable protected classification.